What's on The Zone @ 91-3 ::



Re:fresh Friday @ Upstairs Cabaret
Soft Wear Wednesdays @ Upstairs Cabaret
Fever Fridays @ V-Lounge (Live Entertainment) @ V-Lounge
Uptown Saturdays @ V-Lounge @ V-Lounge
MONKEY WRENCH @ Darcys @ Darcy's Pub

Green nominee steps aside after coin toss decides candidate

Oct 03 2012

After a tie vote, a coin toss and a tense moment of reflection, the Green Party of Canada has a candidate ready to run in the federal byelection in Victoria.

Donald Galloway, a University of Victoria law professor and an advocate of refugee and immigrant rights, will run to replace retired NDP MP Denise Savoie, according to a statement from the Green party on Tuesday.

The federal government has not yet set a date for the byelection.

Trevor Moat was declared the winner Saturday night, and even gave an acceptance speech. However, he later learned that he and Galloway had been tied and that his victory was based on a coin toss.

"I requested time to reflect on this unprecedented and unanticipated result to determine what would be best for the Green party and for me," Moat said in statement.

After some soul searching, Moat decided Galloway - who has a full slate of volunteers in place, has been an adviser to the party and has a number of high-profile supporters in environmental and academic circles - was the stronger candidate.

Galloway praised Moat, saying, "I know that we are on the same team, working for the same goal of electing another Green member of Parliament."

Galloway is a former member of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada and the Green critic on immigration and citizenship.

The Liberals are set to acclaim Paul Summerville, an economist and adjunct professor at UVic's Peter Gustavson School of Business. Summerville ran in the 2006 election as a member of the NDP in Ontario.

In September of that year, he joined the Liberals to support Bob Rae's bid for the party leadership.

The Liberals' selection meeting is scheduled for 2 p.m. on Oct. 13 at St. Matthias Church Hall.

The NDP nomination race, set for Oct. 14, will see former school trustee Charley Beresford, former NDP MLA Elizabeth Cull, first-term Victoria councillor Ben Isitt and environmental law expert Murray Rankin square off.


We thought you might also be interested in..