What's on The Zone @ 91-3 ::



No known events today.

Island Mounties honoured for bravery

Nov 29 2012

Two Tofino RCMP constables received bravery awards in a recent ceremony at Government House for jumping into chilly ocean waters to rescue a woman.

The two were among four Mounties recognized for their outstanding work at the 32nd annual Police Honours Night.

Sixty B.C. police officers received awards at the event.

Tofino RCMP constables Jackson Bernard and Jordan MacKel-lar earned meritorious service honours for their actions during an incident that followed the arrest of a man and a woman in Ahousaht.

The officers were getting lifejackets for the suspects when the handcuffed woman jumped into the ocean, forcing the officers into the water to rescue her.

Cpl. Norm Smith of Nanaimo RCMP Traffic Services received an award of meritorious service for his significant contribution and commitment to community service.

Sgt. David Hall, formerly of the West Shore detachment, received recognition for his dedication to duty and leadership during the investigation into the March 2010 murder of 18-yearold Kimberly Proctor.

"It is a real honour to be recognized for doing the work that we do," Hall said in an email.

"Listening to the stories of some of the other recipients, and to be recognized along with them, was truly humbling.

"In my particular case, as in so much of what we do, our success was thanks to the dedication of many police officers and civilians and their relentless pursuit of justice for Kimberly and her family."

Kruse Wellwood and Cameron Moffat were convicted of brutally killing Proctor, a classmate.

Five members of the Victoria Police Department were also honoured, including Const. Lane Douglas Hunt, who was attacked by a man outside a 7-Eleven store in January 2011.

VicPD sergeants Michael Brown and Michael Johnston and constables Steven Kowan and Ken Ramsay also received awards for meritorious service. The officers were involved in a June 2011 incident at a suspected drug house that had been booby-trapped.

The award recipients "are officers who exemplify bravery, resourcefulness, training and focus," said Justice Minister Shirley Bond. "It is appropriate they are recognized in this special way."

We thought you might also be interested in..